May cause dizziness, sexual nightmares, and sleep crime

Better Than Ice-Cream Vol. 71

For some reason I felt like doing a post today, maybe this will continue and I can get back in the mood to start posting again. Anyways, there are a few newish albums out from bands that you no doubt are already familiar with that are pretty good.  There’s also a couple albums out from bands that I haven’t really heard until a short while back.  So, first up… Belle & Sebastian‘s Write About Love came out in early October, it’s ok but to be honest I like The Boy With The Arab Strap for my B&S fix. Next is Lisbon, it’s the latest release from The Walkmen.  I don’t know how they do it, but they continue to get better with every album. Destroyer is an acquired taste for sure, but if you enjoy their previous albums, Destroyer’s Rubies will not disappoint. You can check out the previous post on Canadian bands for some background info on Destroyer. The Recording’s of The Middle East was released back in 2008, the album has a quietness to it that makes for a perfect non-distracting background album.  Not sure what to put now… how about The Bombay Bicycle Club, they just put out a new album last month titled Flaws.  Not sure about that one, but you should be able to get your hands on their previous release I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose.  Everyone probably already knows who The Temper Trap is but I like “Love Lost” from Conditions that was released back in Oct 2009 and figured I’d throw it in there for the hell of it.

W.

The Walkmen, Lisbon: Woe Is Me

Destroyer, Destroyer’s Rubies: Your Blood

The Temper Trap, Conditions: Love Lost

The Bombay Bicycle Club, I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose: The Hill

One response

  1. yeah, u Kno me

    I’m glad you’re back with the music reviews.

    December 8, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

